NHL Awards & Expansion Draft 2017

Add to Favorites
NHL Awards & Expansion Draft 2017

The 2017 NHL Awards ™ and NHL Expansion Draft™ presented by T-Mobile in Las Vegas took place on June 21, 2017. The purpose of this event was to honor the top performances of the 2016-17 season, and reveal the first members of the NHL's 31st team, the Vegas Golden Knights™. Hosted by actor Joe Manganiello, NBCSN and Sportsnet, and featuring a performance from the popular alt-rock group Arkells, this event is one of the annual highlights of the year in the hockey community.

2017-awards Image Source

Ten awards were given out, including the most valuable player (Hart Trophy) awarded to Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers, and most outstanding goaltender (Vezina Trophy) awarded to Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets. Other award recipients included Johnny Gaudreau who took home the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded annually to the player who best combines sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability. Craig Anderson of the Ottawa Senators also received the Masterton Trophy, which is given to the player who exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey after he supported his wife to beat cancer!

One of the most anticipated aspects of the evening was the revealing of the Golden Knights' 30 selections in the NHL Expansion Draft. This provided the home fans, as well as a national viewing audience, the opportunity to learn the initial composition of the team's roster. The show highlighted team Majority Owner Bill Foley, General Manager George McPhee, Head Coach Gerard Gallant, as well as select players chosen by the Golden Knights. In hindsight, this was an event where the Golden Knights set themselves up to be one of the top performing teams for the 2017-2018 season! The Las Vegas Golden Knights have amazed the entire hockey community and show promise to continue to improve as they settle into their new home in the desert.

expansion-handshake Image Source

HockeyShot was on scene at the 2017 NHL Awards™ and NHL Expansion Draft™, and was able to meet all of the players at a hotel prior to the event. We introduced our product to players such as Connor McDavid, Auston Matthews, Sergei Bobrovsky, Patrik Laine, Carey Price, Brent Burns, and Nick Foligno, and they were thrilled! While they had their haircut and beards trimmed we mingled with a dozen other hockey companies and gave out credit for future HockeyShot purchases from our product line. Connor McDavid loved the G1 Extreme Slideboard Package, which can help him become even faster and more agile on the ice, who knew that was possible! Sergei Bobrovsky was interested in the HS Goal & 2D Backstop Combo, to help him practice his shuffle. And of course all the NHL players were excited about HockeyShot’s Synthetic Ice and Allstar Dryland Flooring Tiles.

2017-awards-2 Image Source

We can’t wait until the 2018 NHL Awards Ceremony, where we will once again be entertained by the amazing talent in the NHL community, and continue to grow our relationship with the forever expanding NHL Roster.

You can find updates on the 2018 NHL Awards here.

Share this post, Hit on social buttons!

Meet the Coaches

Camp Counsellor

Ted Suihkonen

Skating Sensei

Jim Vitale

Mental & Emotional Coach

John Haime

Professional Instructor

Dan Ninkovich

What kind of player are you?